Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m sorry this is so long, but… it is really a quick read since much of it is a list typed double spaced.

*  *  *

Exodus 20:2-4

I am the Lord Your God, who rescued you from the land of Egypt, the place of your slavery. You must not have any other Gods but me. You must not make for yourself an idol of any kind or an image of anything in the heavens or on the earth or in the sea.

These are the verses I’m totally laser-focused on right now. I an doing my best to live by them. Suddenly I can see their profound meaning for our current times – as clear… as… day. To put it mildly, they are astonishingly miraculous.

HOW MANY OF THESE THINGS DO YOU RECOGNIZE IN YOURSELF?

I no longer use

–Alcohol…  (34 yrs)

–Caffeine… (6 yrs)

–Cigarettes… (1 yr)

–Junk food… (2 yrs)

–Diet soda…  (10 yrs)

I try my best to no longer obsess over

–Computer games;

–Television;

–Crochet;

–Reading

–Perfectionistic blog writing;

–Suicide;

Here’s what I’m naturally no longer doing because of removing the above idols from my life...

–Ingratiating myself to people or using them in one way or another, to feel better;

–Blaming my husband or myself for every little imperfection or mistake;

–Worrying about what other people think of me;

–Recriminating myself for being a lousy cook and housekeeper;

–Regurgitating all the mistakes I’ve made in my past;

–Feeling sorry for myself and my ‘lousy’ lot in life because of having to endure such severe use and abuse as a child;

–Wishing I had made more of my life than I have and feel like my life counted for nothing;

–Obsessing over being 50 pounds over-weight;

–Hating my facial features,

–Berating myself for being naturally sedentary;

–Feeling stupid because of finding all vegetables and other healthy foods distasteful;

–Over-sleeping or not allowing myself to get enough sleep;

–Hating myself for not reading my Bible ‘enough'(?) or not praying ‘enough(?);

–Hating myself for not being able to have authentic and genuine feelings for people’s pain and only be able to pretend I have empathy with them – including so many lives lost from 9/11;

–Hating myself for not being able to love my two adorable puppies.

*  *  *

These are many (but not all) of the behaviors I have been doing obsessively, and several addictive substances I have used to gross excess.

All of these are current day ‘idols’. By practicing them I am building a wall between me and my Creator who is just trying to bring me as close to Him as is possible. The closer to Him I am, the more room He has in my heart and head to grow me and make me better so that I’m more able to endure life on this sin-choked planet with the least amount of pain and the most amount of pleasure possible. The closer I am attached to Him, the more healing He can do on me. And, since I’ve begun to practice Exo. 20:2-4 with vehemence, He is performing this at record speed. I am a miracle in the making and I can’t help but see this. I used to be a total wreck with a huge obsession to commit suicide every minute I was awake. I went to bed at a ridiculously early hour (sometimes 3 or 4pm) just so I wouldn’t have to face the day any longer than was absolutely necessary. I ran from everything in life as fast as my little feet could carry me.

If, for me, it’s an addictive substance, I have dropped it completely. If it’s an obsessive behavior, I am (with Gods humongous help) doing my utmost to quit practicing it, or forcing myself to practice it in moderation. If I discover I’m beginning to use it, or do it, to feel better… instead of going directly to God… it goes out with the garbage. But even God, because He Loves me that much… is being my garbage man…. taking the crap out to the trash-heap… Himself.

Most days, and for the first time in my life, I live with some joy in my heart. Because living is now a thousand times easier than it used to be.

Is this a miracle – or what?!

*  *  *

What are some your your ‘idols’? Now, as you read through this list, are you feeling somewhat guilty because you know you’re still practicing some of them (or maybe some other things?) Do you know in your heart that what you’re doing is not a good thing to be doing? Please use the comment section below to tell me about them. Then think about them yourself.

Then………

STOP  DOING  THEM!!    OR  FORCE  YOURSELF TO  DO  THEM  IN  MODERATION!!

In the beginning it will be uncomfortable not to be doing them. I accepted a lot of self-help organizations like AA and OA and from several therapists. Take it from me – somebody who’s been there (many, many times) – and done that. After a little while, you’ll be very, very, very glad you finally rid yourself of these burdens and so be able to spend more of your time… walking and talking… with our mighty and adoring God.

* * *
~Give all Feloreaw to Him,~
~Our Wonderful, Loving Father~

*  *  *

the next post in this series is here:  About the Introject