Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m writing this post because of a post written by one of my favorite blogging buddies, Rick.

This post on his blog can be found…  HERE

 *   *   *

A WARNING:  For those of you who have it easy in life and say you don’t need God, the Bible has a warning.

 

For it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle
than for a rich man to enter the
kingdom of God.”

Matthew 18:25 / Luke 19:24

*   *   *

Several years ago I had an experience that answered a “Why…” question I did not ask. As most of you know by now I almost never ask God the “Why…” question. However, in times of dire stress I have been known to ask it – but I never expect an answer. I have written on why I don’t ask God “Why…”  [That post can be found  HERE .]

 I remember exactly where I was when He spoke to me about this verse on the rich man. I had just taken my exit off of  Highway 1 in Santa Cruz and was stopped at the light. While I was sitting there waiting I heard God say to me …

 “It is very hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom, and you, Robin, believe this has to do with earthly riches. Although that is partly true, there is more to being rich than you understand. These riches I speak of have to do with earthly ‘human-will.’ Those with mental and emotional riches are driven by their own self-wills. They do not need Me as you do. Your life experiences have stripped you of your self-will. You are rich in monetary wealth by virtue of living in a first-world country, but through physical and emotional trials you have become “poor in spirit.” You are a lucky girl – because you are poor in spirit you cling to me with all your might – you are no longer camel-sized. You have gone through punishing experiences that whittled your self-will down to a thin thread – now you will easily enter My kingdom.”

Previous to that brief moment I thought the huge suffering I endured was for no other reason than for torture’s sake. At the stop light I learned that passing through these experiences pared down my ‘self-will’ –  impoverishing me. This was the first time I understood that the torture had a purpose. Being told this made me immensely happy- full of joy.

My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials,

Friend: If your life has been hard and made you poor in spirit, you are one of the lucky ones. If life has been challenging for you, broken your spirit, and dragged you to the foot of the Cross, consider yourself  fortunate – you have become poor in spirit. It will be easier for you to get into heaven than for those who have had the good-life and are still steering by the map created by their own plumply-rich self-wills.

*   *   *

**Peace & All Feloreaw  to our Great & Mighty God**

Robin Illustration
Robin Claire

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

.

.