Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m sober.

As most of you know, I’ve been sober since 1980. AA gave me the umph to get sober. I know what you’re saying right now Dina. AA? UGG!!!   Well, I want you to know that I don’t really go to AA meetings much anymore. You’re right when you say; “They tell you, you have a disease!”  I believe this is true, and I don’t like it either… but…

AA does have some good things to offer as well, and one of those good things is Step 11, which is…

“Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God.”

I do the other AA Steps pretty well. I have Jesus as my ‘Higher Power’ now. Something I got through working the AA program. AA kept me sober until I was able to turn from an Atheist into a Christian. AA didn’t offer Christianity per-se, but it allowed for that option; and I took it.

But I’ve always had a terrible time with this Step 11 – the meditation step.

UGG!!!

I hate meditating. To me it means ‘stoppage’… ‘stopper-up-age’. It means I have to ‘sit and be still’ for a period of time? It means:  NOT THINKING?! What a horrible concept: NOT THINKING!! As many of you already know, I’m Bipolar as well as Alcoholic. In other words, I’m a  SUPER-THINKER!   It is a big part of who I am. My mind just doesn’t want to quit thinking. And I like it that way. That’s the way God made me. For me, I can handle it.

But I have a sponsee in AA now, who is the same way I am. But she’s so new [70 days sober] and she likes to think – like I do. Not that she thinks like I do. It’s just that, she thinks – a lot! Her mind won’t shut up. At 33 years, it’s ok to be thinking, because I pray as much as I think. I’m in almost constant contact with God through prayer and thinking about Him.

But she just THINKS! And she WORRIES! I’m afraid her brain is going to drive her back to the bottle. So I had to come up with a solution to her constant self-hammering. And, in the process of trying to help her out of her brain problem, I found out about a very neat way to meditate.

It’s from a book I found called: Getting in the Gapby Wayne Dyer. I’m having her do his meditation and, what do you know! I’m beginning to do it myself too.

Imagine that!!

And it’s so easy, it’s even FUN!!

In only a few short words, here’s how you do it.

It’s done with a prayer. You can do it with any prayer you like. The book says to do it with the Lords Prayer, but my sponsee is [currently] decidedly, anti-christian, so I suggested she try it with AA’s Serenity Prayer. Actually, any prayer will do. All you have to do for this meditation is to say it….REALLY SLOWLY……and I mean, REALLY SLOW.… Putting about 5 [yes- that’s FIVE!] seconds in-between each word… even the the’s, the and’s.. the to’s’, etc.

Don’t count the seconds. The idea is to put a whole lot of silence between words.

Then listen to the silence between each word.

*  *  *

OUR…5…FATHER…5…WHO…5…ART…5…IN…5…HEAVEN

…5…HALLOWED…5…BE…5…THY……[etc]

*  *  *

The silence is what Wayne Dyer calls: “The Gap”.

Try it……. I won’t tell you what it does……. Just try it. I’m doing it on my morning walks with my puppies.

It’s……the……neatest……little……meditation……I’ve……ever……found……

that……works……

* * *

**Peace & All Feloreaw  to our Great & Mighty God**
Robin Illustration
Robin Claire

.

I hope I have communicated well enough what was given to me about this. If there are parts missing, or parts that don’t make sense, please ask Him about this. I know I am not a completed work yet, but I also know He will fill in any gaps in both our understandings – eventually – and in His perfect timing. What do you think?  I’m open to any input about what has been revealed to you in this

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *