Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pride:         Excessive belief in one’s own abilities.

Envy:          A desire for others’ traits, status, abilities, or situation.

Gluttony:     A desire to consume more than that which one requires.

Lust:           An inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.

Anger:        The spurning of love and opting for fury.

Greed:        The desire for material gain, ignoring the spiritual.

Sloth:          The avoidance of physical or spiritual work. [depression?]

*  *  *  *  *

Pride… Anger…Envy… Gluttony… Lust…Greed… Sloth.

What exactly are all these sins about anyway?

Many people, Christians especially, point to them and sneer;  

“They’re just, plain, bad character habits to have.”

I don’t dispute this reasoning. I don’t think they’re very good habits to have either. But as usual, and as many of you know already, I think of things a little bit differently than most people [even Christians] do. And I think of all these sins differently than most people I know, do. Even though the Bible put them in ‘stand-alone’ categories, I just can’t seem to think of them that way.

Why is Fear, Guilt, or Shame, not incorporated into ‘Seven-Deadly-Sins’ categories themselves? I don’t know. I don’t get this. The whole thing seems suspicious. All these sins look like defense-mechanisms to me.

Here’s what I see.

Think about this for a second or two. Aren’t all these sins acting as sort of defense-mechanism for Fear? Now there are legitimate things to be afraid of; grizzly bears for instance. But I’m not talking about that kind of fear. I’m talking about disconnected Fear. Fear that doesn’t seem to have any legitimate right to be there. But it does have a legitimate  right to be there. As I see it, this type of Fear is a defense-mechanism itself. It is driven by the  REAL feeling. One that I think drives all these Deadleys…  Shame.

Here’s how I see it.

Disconnected Fear“I’m eligible to have bad things happen to me.”

But why would you feel that way?

Guilt“I did something bad so I’m eligible to have bad things happen to me.”

This may, or may not, be true. But if you did a bad thing, why did you do it?

Shame“I am just a bad seed, and bad things happen to bad seeds. So I have to protect myself from the bad things that will happen.”

Thinking that bad things will happen to you, can make a person very afraid. The fear is unconscionable. So you  try to divorce yourself from it.  The result?…  One or more of the Seven-Deadly Sins.

Then…  might this be what the Bible is trying to say about these outcropping sins?

“Feel your real feelings. Don’t resort to these defense-mechanisms
which will show themselves as any of one of these sins.”

I am in the process of practicing this on myself. When I find myself in Pride [or any of the other sins on the list], I’m asking myself…

“What are you really feeling? Are you feeling bad about yourself?”

When I do this, I feel a grain of Truth ring inside me. Something inside begins to resonate, and I know I’ve hit a very deep place. I go to that resonating spot and find… a child… a small child there. She’s been treated badly and feels very bad about herself because of this. She says to me…

They treat me this way because I am a bad child.”

I go to her; comfort her; hold her; and tell her that she is very much loved and valued, both by me and by her Father in Heaven. That she is a wonderful child.  This seems to calm her [me] down, and soothe her, and the Deadly-Sin I’m in the middle of practicing, suddenly – evaporates.

I don’t know what else to call it.

It’s like magical!!

* * *

**Peace & All Feloreaw  to our Great & Mighty God**

Robin Illustration
Robin Claire

.

I hope I have communicated well enough what was given to me about this. If there are parts missing, or parts that don’t make sense, please ask Him about this. I know He will fill in any gaps in understanding – in mine or in yours. What do you think?  I’m open to any input about what has been revealed to you in this

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *