Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I have an A.A. new-comer! I know Dina. AA is a blasphemous word – but just hang in there for a minute and you’ll see as this story unfolds, where I’m going with this.

So she’s a ‘wet-one’. I met her when she had only one day sober !

I’m overjoyed!!

I’m so happy I can hardly contain myself !

You see, I myself have been sober since 1980. Many of my sober years were spent in AA, but now I get my human connection mostly through the Christian church. I go to AA meetings only occasionally. But I met her at one of the meetings I attended.

Dina. I know you hate AA, but I have to say that it’s a great place to meet other alkies so that you have the opportunity to  [gently!]   guide them toward the knowledge of Jesus Christ as a Higher Power. [She’s already asking to go to  church with me!]

Wayne. Have you ever thought about making the AA connection? There’s nothing to compare to being a care-taker for a ‘wet-one’ of Gods’ gems.

Anyway, she had one day sober when I met her. She a gem.  On the outside she looks nothing at all like a gem. Actually she looks like a horrible mess. But aren’t all alkies gems? In fact, aren’t all of us, Gods’ kids, gems? We mess-up; we screw-up; we act weirdly. Aren’t we all Gods’ little children? Aren’t we all gems in His eyes?

At the beginning of my sobriety, I’m sure I looked like a horrible mess to Jeannie. Jeannie became my AA ‘sponsor’ from my first day sober. I met her at my very first AA meeting, and she sponsored me until I had about two years of sobriety.

Jeannie loved me until I could come to love myself  – sober. I hated myself all my life, and when I got off the booze, that self-hated came to the surface in spades. I’m an alcoholic, and I drank whole fifths to get away from myself. I hated myself. I was hideous to myself.

But then there was Jeannie – who Loved the heck out of me anyway. In spite of how I hated myself. I just couldn’t understand that. That she could Love me so much.

But this is how I feel about my ‘wet-one’. I love her. It took a few days to get used to her, because she really is a holy mess. But now I can honestly say I do Love her. And Love makes the world go round. The Love I feel for her is gushing out of me in torrents. There’s nothing like Loving someone who can’t return that Love. It’s more than fantastic. It’s a ‘God thing’ I think. I’m doing exactly what God wishes for me to do. Love someone who can’t Love me back. It’s what God does Himself – doesn’t He? I’m not saying that I’m a god, because I know I’m made of mud and water. I also know I can’t do this perfectly. I’m still human – and fickle. But it’s pouring out of me =this Love= by the bucket-load!

 * * *

**Peace & All Feloreaw  to our Great & Mighty God**

Robin Illustration.

Robin Claire

.

I hope I have communicated well enough what I understand about this. If there are parts missing, or parts that don’t make sense, please ask Him about this. I know He will fill in any gaps in understanding – in mine or in yours. What do you think?  I’m open to any input about what has been revealed to you in this.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

.

.