Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I used to be kind of a bad driver.

You know the kind.…

The…  Run up your bumpers cause you’re not going fast enough – kind.
The…  Speed around you then cut right in front you – kind.
The…  No turn signals – ever – kind.
The…  Careen to the right lane to get to the off ramp – kind.
The…  Honk at you when your only going 5 miles under the speed limit – kind.
The… “Get out of my way” going 20 miles over the speed limit – kind.
The…  Swerve in and out of  lanes – kind.

And like that.

The kind where the law gets involved.

One time I got a letter from the DMV [for you non-USA people, that’s the Department of Motor Vehicles] saying; “If you get one more ticket, we’re going to take your license away!”

The great arm of the law didn’t deter me. I didn’t care. It never dented my enthusiasm for bad driving. I was insane at the time – but that’s no excuse. I was even sober!

Then, one day, I had an epiphany about all this bad driving I was doing. I’m pretty sure it was the long arm of God who approached me about it.

Here it is…

I was in the middle of doing some bad driving. I don’t remember exactly what kind of bad driving, but I’m sure it was pretty bad. I was living in Watsonville at the time, and it was next to Rayle’s grocery story where this happened. I remember that much.

But what is etched in my mind, to this day, was the look on the face of the other driver who was having to deal with me and my bad driving. He gave me the bird – and he was yelling. I couldn’t hear what he was yelling because his window was up. But he was looking in my direction and his mouth was moving really fast! And he had fire in his eyes!

But that didn’t effect my seeing what I actually saw.

Because what I saw was…

! FEAR !

His face was encased by it – a shroud of fear covered that man’s face.

I’ve never forgotten that look.

And at that moment, God said to me…

“Don’t Scare the People Robin”.

“These are Death Machines! ”

These are not just innocent, little cars. We’re operating Death Machines. Really, when you think about it, they seem innocuous enough on the outside; just little, metal boxes on wheels, that take us places.

But we’re fragile creatures that occupy these little metal boxes. When you think about it – really – what happens when a human being meets up with one of these innocent-looking metal boxes? That human being gets smushed! They can get their heads split open! Their guts ripped out! Their arms and legs torn off! One of these little, metal  boxes can turn a person into a bloody slab of meat.

Yes. We’re afraid. Deep down under all that =anger= we know this about the almighty automobile.

And we should be afraid. We should all be afraid. We should all respect the power of force that these little, metal boxes contain.

* * *

I’m a good driver now. They call it being a  “defensive driver”. I don’t want to “Scare the People” anymore.

And I feel my fear when other people do bad driving around me. I’m not angry now; I feel my fear too. Because, for me, honesty is always the best policy.

.

**Peace & All Feloreaw  to our Great & Mighty God**

Robin Illustration

Robin Claire

.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *   *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *   *  *  *  *  *

I hope I have communicated well enough what I understand about this. If there are parts missing, or parts that don’t make sense, please ask Him about this. I know He will fill in any gaps in understanding – in mine or in yours. What do you think?  I’m open to any input about what has been revealed to you in this.

.

.