Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Do you want to know God?

Do you want to have an intimate relationship with God?

Do you want to feel God’s love and power in your life?

Well, there’s one way I know of  that will give you this.

It’s called “Doing The Hard Thing.”

I have been sober since 1980. That’s 33 years now. That was a very hard thing to do. It’s not so hard now, but I still need God to do it – every day.

Just showing up to life – is a very hard thing for me to do. In fact, in order to keep my life together -sober [plus do the other hard things], and to not blow up into a million pieces, I have to maintain a constant contact with God – 24/7 – so He can do this for me.

I’ve been a suicide addict since I was 5 years old. The hard thing was to put my foot down against this obsession – and to put it down – for good. Today I am suicide addiction free. I’ve been free since 1997. That’s 15 years now. But what’s on the other end of not committing suicide? It’s living life here, on this planet. A very, very hard thing for me to do; so I must rely on God also, to do the living of this life –  for me.

I was a hider from people most of my life. I never made a single friend growing up. Being sociable, having social interaction with people, was a very hard thing for me to do. But, with God’s love and power, I have been practicing doing this hard thing for a while now. With God, I’m finding myself able to be sociable in my Bible Study at church. In God, I have been practicing learning everybody’s names so that I can say hello to them every week. I very much need God near me, remembering the names – for me – and giving me the courage to go up to them and say “Hello”. Then I must rely on God to help me interact with them in a sane manner.

A hard thing I have yet to be willing to try is letting go of junk food. I think this might be the hardest thing I could tackle. But I know, as I’m writing this post, at this moment, that if I want to get even closer to God, I will have to face it. Letting go of the junk food would be very, very hard thing for me to do. But, through God, I know I will do this too.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *   *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *   *  *  *  *  *

But there’s more to this than just doing a hard thing. The trick is you have to keep doing it.

Every day; day after day; week after week; year after year – without let up.

Doing the hard thing this way – for the long haul – will break a person in two. It can [and most likely will] be earth shattering. But that’s the whole idea. Being broken – through pain – is absolutely necessary; in order to let God and Jesus into your life – fully – you need to become broken. Jesus said He wants us to be “broken”. Doing the hard thing – over the long haul – will break you.

“If your hand or foot causes you to sin, cut it off and cast it from you.
It is better for you to enter into life lame or maimed, rather than having
two hands or two feet, 
to be cast into the everlasting fire.

[Matthew 18:8]

It will be painful to do, there’s no doubt about this. We don’t do hard things because they are – painful. It can be, and hopefully will be, a “buckling the knees” painful. A “fall on your face and beg God for help” painful. This is a necessary step to becoming broken.

It will bring out anger. The pain will produce anger. For a little while – before you break – there may be lots of this. It’s can become a “I hate you God!” anger. This is ok. But when you do get angry [and you will], don’t keep your anger from Him. Let Him have it with both barrels. He knows about the anger – and He can easily handle it. Horribly angry, or not, He loves you. His love is without conditions. He will never leave you just because you’re mad.

For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

[Hebrews 13:5]

Then, as you continue doing your hard thing, you will come to understand what this “breaking” is all about. I can not explain it to you. You will have to experience it for yourself. Only then, will you be forced to develop a very strong, and honest, relationship with the Creator God. And, as you slowly break, you will come to the realization that it’s no longer you who are doing the hard thing, it is God doing it – through you.

So pick your hard thing.

If you want to know God in the most intimate way possible….

Pick your hard thing.

I dare you.      I double dare you.

*  *  *

.

Robin Illustration
robin claire

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *   *  *  *  *

 

.