Tags

, , , ,

This post is about “Reading Your Bible”.

I just read a post on this subject that you can reference:    Here

One of the things they wrote about was that; if one reads one’s Bible through self-effort the results will be only temporary, as strength and resolve with eventually give out.

The other thing I thought was very spot-on was that trying to be obedient in your Bible reading through self-effort results in…

boasting for the obedient;  condemnation for the disobedient”.

I’m not a big Bible reader – and I feel very condemned and ashamed by that. But it’s nice to know someone else understands the shame and condemnation feelings; that these feelings are common among my fellow brothers and sisters when it comes to Bible reading.

That I’m not alone.

But, you know, I’ve never asked my Father for the willingness to pick up my Bible. If I want to be reading it regularly [which I very much do], I must get the strength and desire to do this, from Him. If I can not do this on my own, then He must do it for me. The book is too over-whelming for me. It is the very words of God Himself !

I think I’m kind of afraid of being over-whelmed [?]

I don’t know.

The whole thing is very baffling.

Anyway, I want to be reading the Bible. With my heart of hearts I want to be reading the words He wrote to me. The only thing I can think of to get to that place is – maybe to ask Him for the willingness, desire, and courage [?]

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *   *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *   *  *  *  *  *

I hope I have communicated well enough what I understand about this. If there are parts missing, or parts that don’t make sense, please ask Him about this. I know He will fill in any gaps in understanding – in mine or in yours. What do you think?  I’m open to any input about what has been revealed to you in this.

.

Robin Illustration
robin claire

.

.