For those who’ve I’ve nominated to receive this award

[because I made a disaster out of trying to figure out how do move this award along, I decided to try it again.]

 The Reality Blog Award

I’ve never gotten one of these. This is my first one. Thank you, thank you, thank you Wayne. You don’t know how much this means to me. You are a special person in my life and when you post, you’re one of the ones I look forward to reading the most.

* * * * * * * * *

My understanding of this award is that each nominee should do as follows:

a) Display the award logo on your blog.

b) Link back to the person who nominated you.

c) Pass the award onto to any other bloggers you want — and link to one of their specific posts so that they get notified by ping back

d) Answer these questions:

If you could change something what would you change?

If you could relive one day, when would it be?

If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be?

What’s one thing that really scares you?

What one dream have you not completed yet, and do you think you will be able to complete it?

* * * * * * * * *

So who do I love to see posts from? Here are only a few of the many blogging buddies I have the privilege of knowing. These bloggers are in no particular order; since I find you all delicious to read and savor.

I Want To Believe In God

Justin was one of my first blogging buddies I decided to follow. He is a walking-talking recovery inspiration to me.

To Give You Hope

Dina has been a stalwart friend to me from almost the beginning of my posting career. She recovering, like me, and has nothing but inspiration to give. Her Christian walk is nothing short of spectacular

Inked Pen

Nathaniel is a very special writer, unlike anyone else. He calls himself dissociative (?) in that he sometimes writes from himself to “Inked Pen”. I think he has a special relationship with the Holy Spirit in this.

TL ‘s Blog

I don’t know her real name. She prefers anonymity. But she sure is honest about her day-to-day > One-day-at-a-Time life in recovery from compulsive over-eating. She has recovery, you can tell; and I want what she has.

Unshakable Hope

Bill, has been around the block with God more than a few times. He has ALS and it seems like it’s done nothing but be a good thing for him.

View Outside the Pew

David has a Christian walk similar to mine. I call him a “quirky Christian” too. He tells it the way he sees it, and he seems to be spot on, as far as I can tell.

Project Sara

Sara is a fantastic and gutsy writer and one of the few atheist (?) blogs I follow. Though I am a Christian, her writing really caught my attention. She tells wonderful stories of her adventures in life. And she has had many “adventures”.

My Atheist Life

Mal has been a good friend, blogging buddy, since I began writing this blog. I love to read her/his posts and she/he seems to like what I write as well. We have a very “interesting” relationship with each other – mutual respect for each others values and beliefs.

* * * * * * * * *

Here are my answers to the above questions:

If you could change something what would you change?

I try not to think about what I would change. I try to think about the world from God’s view. I would have wanted to change my childhood to one of “excitement, joy, and wonder” but then I wouldn’t be the person I am today. God wanted me – and you – to be exactly as He has purposed us to be. So I will go with His desires because He has what’s best for us all, His children,  in mind. There are many who will never come to belong to Him, but I want to place that too, entirely in His hands. He knows best – for everyone.

If you could relive one day, when would it be?

I think it’s the day I decided to call Alcoholics Anonymous and go to my first AA meeting, instead of picking up that bottle – one more time. But then again, I do relive that day often. I remember my first meeting like it happened yesterday. It was a 12 x 12 Book Study at the “Orange-Olive Club. “Chief” was leading and I came in late and sat down in a corner, next to “How Sweet It Is George”. God sent Jeanne to that meeting (it was more than co-incidental) who was the only other young girl there. She became my sponsor for the next 2 years of my sobriety. She said 2 things I will never forget:  1] She never fit in anywhere until she came to AA.  2] You never HAVE to drink again – if you don’t want to. She was spot on – on both counts.

If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be?

I would be anyone who actually met Jesus while He walked here with us on earth. I would have liked to be anyone whom He performed a miracle on. I would have liked to be Mary. But then again; here I am, a walking talking sober miracle. If you only knew the miracle God performed on me – that I should be sober almost 33 years. A totally messed up wreck of a human being – to be sober 33 years!! I haven’t done this – Jesus has.

What’s one thing that really scares you?

Drinking again. This is a horror picture for me. Also, living without Jesus. I thank God that he picked me, both to get sober, and to be with Him – forever. When I look around at people who don’t have Jesus in their lives, I can’t see how they do it.  I can’t see how they can get up in the morning without wishing they were already dead! This is how I lived, before I met Christ. Every morning when I awoke, I wished I were dead.

What one dream have you not completed yet, and do you think you will be able to complete it?

“To bear fruit…”    Galatians 5:22

“…the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.”

I try to live as God wants me to live… in today. I do my best to do as He would want me to do today, which is to be Jesus to the people around me who don’t have Jesus in their hearts [yet]. I’ve heard it said; “You might be the only Jesus that someone will ever meet.” I want to love people in the way Jesus would want me to love them –  if He could be here in person to love them.  When I feel like I have done this with someone, I feel like I have completed my purpose for that day…. God’s purpose for me.

.

Robin Illustration
robin claire

.

.

.