Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 For those reading this who are addicts in one of the Anonymous programs.

It’s important to get a LOVING [non-human] God. People can and do work well – but human’s and things of this earth are fallible and will fail you eventually. Eventually you will have to find a 100% “loving & there for you” God whom you can always carry with you & count on when the realities of life get rough. I’m a Christian. I was an anti-Christian all my life, but I got a loving God when I turned myself over to Jesus by accident. Are you willing to give this a try? It’s absolutely OK if you don’t want to. It’s completely up to you. There are many other Higher Powers that can work well for us alcoholics. Anyway, I have written down my experience –
if you’re interested in reading it.

Nuts & Bolts of How I Got a Higher Power and Recovered from Alcoholism

.

[Please, read the Page above, first – called :  “Feeding the Finches” . Then read this one. Then read “My Testimony”  In this order. You  will understand why, after you read them this way.]

[I believe it was important to do alone… on my own… with no-one to interfere in my experience.]

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

How I finally got a Higher Power that loved me and helped me recover from alcoholism.

In 1982, at only 27 years old, I was at the end of the road in my life. I was 2 years sober but I wanted to die. I was an emotional basket case from stress, and alcohol seemed to be the only answer again. Then I came across a book that pulled me out of the gutter I was living in. It was purely an accident that I came to be introduced to this book – but I believe it was really no accident. It was a design by God trying His darndest to get my attention – so He could help me. I didn’t know it then but God was watching me at that time – and His heart was breaking. This book I came across was a Soul Savers Bible. At that time, the last thing I thought would help me was that book – but then I had absolutely nothing to lose; so I picked it up and opened it at random. Here’s what it opened to ! ! . . . .

WHAT YOU MUST DO TO BE SAVED

“Know that you are truly messed up. That you have been doing things you wish you could stop doing but that you can’t stop. Relationships have gone sour or are dead. You might even be totally alone and this loneliness is killing you inside. You have burned all your bridges behind you. This is what this book called “sin”. It’s when a person has really messed up their life. Everyone deals with this to some extent.”

“for all have sinned and fall short” ………. Romans 3:23

[the book asked me…..]                                    Can you believe this?

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

The book told me there’s one way out:                                

“Believe that God came here to earth 2000 years ago in human flesh as  the man called Jesus to show us how much He loves us and wanted to help us get up out of our pain and sin by doing many things; and dieing for us……”

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” ………. John 3:16

[the book asked me…..]                                    Can you believe this?

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

“That Jesus demonstrated He was God by doing all kinds of super-natural miracles for us……”

.

“Jesus of Nazareth, a Man attested by God to you by miracles, wonders, and signs which God did through Him in your midst,” ………. Acts 2:22

.

.

.
[the book asked me…..]                                    Can you believe this?

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

“That Jesus was killed on a cross & died  for us……”

.
to reconcile all things…..on earth or things in heaven, having made peace through the blood of His cross”  …… Colossians 1:20

“For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” …… 1 Corinthians 1:18

[I didn’t – and still don’t really understand the why of the cross – I just decided I’d do my best to believe it anyway – and this, I found out later, was faith.]

[the book asked me…..]                                    Can you believe this?

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

“That He was raised back to life on the third day……”

.

[and Jesus said]  “The Son of Man is being betrayed into the hands of men. They will kill Him. And after He is killed, He will rise the third day.” ……. Mark 9:31

.

.
[This was important to believe in that I had to trust Jesus was alive and was here with me so that I could talk to Him.]

[the book asked me…..]                                    Can you believe this?

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I was in agony.    I needed help so badly

“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh”…… Ezekiel 36:26

“So they might see with their eyes and hear with their ears and so they might understand with their hearts and turn, and let me heal them” …… Matt 13:15

Jesus said to her; “if you would but believe  [100% in all the miracles and that He was raised from the dead] “you would  see the    Glory of  God !”…… John 11:40

“the father of the child cried out and said with tears, “Lord, I believe – help my unbelief!” …… Mark 9:24

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I pushed all my   “I know better’s “  out of my mind. I left behind all my doubts. I abandoned myself…. for only a couple of minutes…. to  100% belief  [no reservations]…. in everything about Jesus. That He did all the things He did….. to help me believe. That He gave His life for me…..  to save me.

It said:

“If you confess with your mouth    [out loud]   that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart
[100% – without any reservations] that God raised Him from the dead you will be saved”…..
Romans 10:9             

Well I didn’t exactly say this but I did say something similar. I got on my knees and cried out to Jesus through tears;

“Jesus, I believe you are alive today and that you can hear me talking to you.  I believe You Jesus. I believe everything about you; all the miracles you did and that you died and came back to life again after 3 days, I believe you are alive today. Please, come into my life. I need you. I’m all messed up and I’m  so very alone. I need a friend. I really need a friend”

I was crying in utter wretchedness.

[using  your own heart-felt words]. . . . . . . .“whoever calls on the Lord shall be saved”…Acts 2:21

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

When I did this, I saw the “Glory of God”.

[Please read “My Testimony” to find out exactly what happened to me when I did this.]

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

.

I’m a re-born Christian now and a miracle has happened to me. I was taken out of the muck of my life and set on solid ground. At first it was only my problem with alcohol but, piece-by-piece, God has been putting me back together so that I am becoming a whole, and loving human being.

.

“He who began a good work in you will be faithful to complete it until Jesus returns.”….Philippians 1:6

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

If you would like to talk to somebody call:            

The Salvation Army:…………….. 1-800-725-2769
Celebrate Recovery:…………….. 1-949-609-8305
Suicide Prevention:………………. 1-800-273-8255
Alcoholics Anonymous:…………. 1-212-870-3400
Al-Anon:……………………………….. 1-757-563-1600