Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

My twin sister and I are going round and round about how knowledgeable our society and civilization is today compared to the time of Christ’s arrival on this planet. She says; “We have it all over the primitive culture of Jesus’ day. We have modern science at our disposal; understandings such as the way sub-atomic particles work. Their understandings about the ways life is put together was so antiquated that  Jesus had to use only the most primitive of parables; shepherding and planting, to get His points across to them. Today, we know so much more than they did back then.”

While I can’t argue with her against her stance regarding our present day understandings and the developments in science we have achieved, I don’t myself believe we’re as “highly developed” today as she insists.

What if the lights go out?

.

What if all electricity, including batteries, is extinguished?

.

And, what if all our sophisticated science could not turn it back on again?

.

Now how “highly-developed” would our society – even our civilization – be? We know all about the atom; we know all about how to be “spiritual”, but can we figure out how to get water to drink without it coming from a faucet? Do we know how to maintain a sheep? Are we physically fit enough to walk even ten miles to get somewhere. Hell, do we even know how to grow a potato?! I dare you to really think about this. This science, so  modern and sophisticated, that we proclaim, would be worthless compared to knowing how to get rid of the day-to-day garbage we collect. Maybe Jesus came to our planet during a time when, heaven forbid, people were better equipped to deal with real life issues than we would ever be today. If the lights went out on me I know I’d give my eye-teeth to learn just a little bit from the primitive people back then, as to how to survive – without drug factories.

We’d die in our cities by the zillions; even in the suburbs – we’d die by the thousands. And I dare to say, on our modern-day, electrically-run farms, death would be no stranger to us. There would be no power to run nuclear plants. And this brings up a danger beyond comprehension. What about the most dangerous invention of all – the nuclear power plants we have “planted” over our entire planet?! Nuclear power planets with no electricity to contain them. Nuclear power planets going haywire – melting!….laying waste to all within a thousand miles; spewing radiation to kill all life within it’s path! When you really think about it -the more I think about it – without the lights. Our “modern day”, “sophisticated”, civilization could very well come to an end completely.

Yes, if the lights went out, I’d give up everything I owned. Hell, I’d give everything you owned – to be taught how to grow a potato – from a primitive person. I’d give everything I owned, to be living in that antiquated culture – way back – in the days of Christ.

.

.


robin claire

.

.

.