Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I learned something neat about Gnosticism during the course of studying for exams my twin sister gives me. My sister is a Gnostic (I hope I got that right) and I’m a re-born Christian. Currently we are having some spirited conversations by e-mail with each other… very in-depth. She is also a thinker of spiritual things – like me; so our conversations are around what we each think about all things spiritual – each of us from a very different and unique perspective. She; however, does mucho research and so I’m finding the need to do a lot more studying myself in order to keep up with her. I’m only somewhat brainy – but she’s reeeely brainy. With all her questions regarding what I believe, she puts me to shame.

Anyway…..


Soooo…. as I was studying, I came across this definition of Gnosticism that I got really excited about.
It’s even in Wikipedia! Here it is:

.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Gnosticism

Unlike modern English, ancient Greek was capable of discerning between several different forms of knowing. These different forms may be described in English as being propositional knowledge, indicative of knowledge acquired indirectly through the reports of others or otherwise by inference (such as “I know of George Bush” or “I know Berlin is in Germany”) — and knowledge acquired by direct participation or acquaintance (such as “I know George Bush personally” or “I know Berlin, having been there”).

GNOSIS (γνώσις) refers to…  knowledge of the second kind. !!!!       (exclamation points are mine)

Therefore, in a religious context, to be ‘Gnostic’ should be understood as being reliant not on knowledge in a general sense, but as being specially receptive to mystical or esoteric experiences of direct participation with the divine !!!!

Gnosis refers to intimate personal knowledge and insight from experience !!!!

Indeed, in most Gnostic systems the sufficient cause of salvation is this ‘knowledge of’ or “acquaintance with” the divine. This is commonly associated with a process of inward ‘knowing’ or self-exploration, comparable to that encouraged by Plotinus (c. 205–270 CE). However, as may be seen, the term ‘Gnostic’ also had precedent usage in several ancient philosophical traditions, which must also be weighed in considering the very subtle implications of its appellation to a set of ancient religious groups, though currently there is no direct archaeological evidence to support such a claim outside of the Mediterranean.

.

So basically… the word “gnosis” can actually mean to know someone; not just to know something. Ain’t that unbelievable?!   It’s not just about secret knowledge, it’s also about having  secret intimacy with someone! So I could actually say… “I gnosis my sister”……. “I gnosis my mom”……  and (what a kicker)  “I gnosis Jesus!”

And that’s exactly what it feels like!  I have the secret gnosis of the divine.
I gnosis Jesus !  I really, really, really know Jesus !

How blessed I feel right now!

robin claire

PS:  Anyone can gnosis [know] Jesus!

Please read; “Feeding the Finches” , “How to be Saved“, and “My Testimony” written on the  Pages  above.

.

.

.